The Arrell Food Awards recognize global excellence in the broad area of food innovation and community
impact. In 2021, two awards will be given:
One award will recognize a researcher, or group of researchers, who has advanced understanding of food
production, processing, distribution, consumption, safety and/or human nutrition, with a significant positive
impact on society. Likely themes include: food science, the environmental impact of agriculture, crop or
livestock genetics, agro-ecology, soil health, food animal health and production, pest management, supply
chain management, food processing, food packaging, food safety, food consumption, human nutrition, food
The other award will recognize an individual, or group of individuals, who has contributed to improved
nutritional health and/or food security, with a focus on strengthening disadvantaged communities. Likely
themes include: food sovereignty, food production, food distribution/access, food insecurity, community
development and governance, household nutrition, urban poverty, Aboriginal food security, non-traditional
food systems, socioeconomic policy, empowerment of under-served communities, food and nutrition literacy.

The criteria for awarding the Arrell Food Prizes are as follows:

  • The individual or group being nominated will have made exceptionally significant and documented
    contributions to either our scientific understanding related to food production, distribution and sales,
    or human nutrition/consumption; and/or at the community level in markedly improving nutrition,
    including access to, or distribution of food.
  • The nomination package must clearly demonstrate how the individual or group being nominated
    played a critical leadership role in achieving the above noted contributions.
  • Nominees must be able to attend the award ceremony and ancillary events.


  • Citizens of any country are eligible for nomination, with no restrictions on gender, race, religion, creed
    or residency.
  • Nominations may come from private companies, academic institutions, governmental units, charitable
    foundations, and not-for-profit organisations. In the case of multiple nominations from a single
    organization, only the one with the latest date will be accepted.


The Arrell Food Prizes come with the following terms:

  • Each of the two prizes will be worth $125,000 CAD comprising a $100,000 cash award for the
    personal use of recipients and up to $25,000 per award for travel and accommodation of the
    recipients, administered by the Arrell Food Institute at the University of Guelph.
  • An award citation and a commemorative item will also be presented.
  • Recipients are expected to participate in a program of events. In particular, award recipients may
    be asked to attend the next Arrell Food Summit. There may also be other engagements organized,
    subject to mutual availability.
  • Given the current global pandemic a determination on the travel and accommodation component
    of the award will be made some time during the 2021 calendar year.


For more information about the nomination procedure, visit the official website.

Source: MladiInfo

Што мислиш ти?
  • Ви се допаѓа оваа вест? Препорачајте ја на Вашите пријателите преку следниве сервиси:
  • Mail